lunes, 26 de agosto de 2013

David Hillyard & The Rocksteady 7 ‎– Way Out East

1 Playtime        
2 Duppy Conqueror        
3 Baby D        
4 Love Is Something        
5 Old Days        
6 Another You        
7 Ethiopian Melody        
8 Hillyard St        
9 Norwegian Dub



"Improvise and Overcome" is the motto of saxophonist David Hillyard, who is known for his work with THE SLACKERS, THE DONKEYS, RANCID, HEPCAT, SKINNERBOX and STUBBORN ALL-STARS. He has had many ups and downs in his 20 year music career but his musical vision has endured; a burning mix of jazz, reggae, ska, and African percussion. His solos soar like a kite on a windy day. They dart to and fro, exploring the different colors of the music, reveling in the sunshine of his rhythm section. This free spirit is captured in his most recent cd, "Way Out East", a live cd, recorded on his 2004 European tour. Dave has always been frustrated with the artificiality of the studio. At his gigs, he feels free to play anything. To try anything. This infectious freedom and joy is something that "Way Out East" revels in. Dave is obsessed with finding his own sound in the world and maybe he's finally discovered it.